skip navigation

In Memoriam Mike Bossy & Guy Lafleur

By Christopher J. Kendel, 04/26/22, 6:00PM EDT


Hockey World Mourns The Passing of Legends Bossy & Lafleur

The hockey world mourns the recent passing of Hockey Legends Mike Bossy (1957-2022) and Guy Lafleur (1950-2022).  

Mike Bossy played all ten of his NHL seasons (1977-87) with the  New York Islanders and quickly established himself as one of hockey's purest goal scorers.  He won the 1978 Calder Memorial Trophy as the league's top rookie after scoring a then record 53 goals by a rookie.  Bossy, along with Bryan Trottier and Clark Gillies,  comprised the Trio Grande Line, one of the greatest in NHL History.  Bossy is the only player to have scored 50 or more goals in a season nine consecutive times (1978-86), remains the all-time leader in average goals scored per regular season game and is only one of five players to have scored 50 goals in 50 games.  Bossy helped lead the Islanders to four consecutive Stanley Cup Championships from 1980-1983, earning the Conn Smythe Trophy as Playoff MVP in 1982.  Throughout his career Bossy was a three-time winner of the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (1983, 84, 86), a five-time First-Team NHL All-Star, a three-time Second-Team All-Star, played in seven all-star games and was a member of Team Canada in the 1981 and 84 Canada Cup Tournaments. Sadly, debilitating back pain forced Bossy to retire after only ten seasons. Bossy was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1991, his #22 jersey was retired by the Islanders in 1992 and in 2017, as part of the NHL's Centennial, was named one on of its 100 greatest players.

Guy Lafleur was the first overall pick by the Montreal Canadiens in the 1971 NHL Amateur Draft and at the time of his retirement from the Le Bleu-Blanc-Rouge he would be the all-time  franchise leader in points & assists and second all-time in goals.  If the first half of the 1970's was dominated by the great Bobby Orr and the  Boston Bruins, the second half of the decade belonged to the Flying Frenchmen led by the dynamic  Le Demon Blond.  The Flower was a member of five Stanley Cup championship teams, including four straight from (1976-79).   He is the first player in league history to score 50 or more goals and 100 or more points for six consecutive seasons (1974-80).  During that run,  Lafleur would go on to win two Hart Memorial Trophies (league MVP), three Art Ross Trophies (top scorer), three Lester B. Pearson Awards, the Conn Smythe Trophy (1977 Playoff MVP) and was a six time first-team All-Star at right wing.  He was as a member of Team Canada in the 1976 and 81 Canada Cup Tournaments.  Lafleur's #10 jersey was retired by the Habs in 1985, he was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1988,  and like Bossy, was named to the NHL's all-centennial team in 2017.